National Wet Paint Exhibition 2012

-Sponsored Post-

National Wet Paint Exhibition 2012
January 20 to March 10, 2012
Opening Reception: January 20, 2012
Zhou B Art Center


The National Wet Paint Exhibition 2012 is an outlook and an overview of top MFA painting programs in the United States. Wet Paint refers to the idea that this is a fresh group of artists. They are MFA (Masters of Fine Arts) candidates and recent MFA recipients working primarily in the medium of painting. Now on its third year, this growing and highly competitive juried exhibition will bring to Chicago some of the most talented emerging artists in the country. Wet Paint 2012 is fully funded by the Zhou B. Art Center which makes it possible for graduate students to submit works for consideration at no cost. Wet Paint 2012 takes place from January 20 to March 10 in the spacious main gallery of the Zhou B Art Center. Wet Paint is juried and curated by Sergio Gomez, MFA.

Wet Paint 2012 seeks to highlight traditional and experimental ways contemporary artists in their MFA programs incorporate and embrace painting as their primary medium.


The Zhou B Art Center is a private, non-government funded art center designed to facilitate the exchange of contemporary art between Chicago and the international art community. The 87,000 square feet art center offers innumerable possibilities for exploring the arts in a charismatic location and collectively form an extravagant art center fusing culture and creativity.

The Zhou B Art Center was founded in 2003 by the world renowned artists, the Zhou Brothers. It is now home to several exhibition spaces, a cafe, an art store, galleries and artist studios. It has established itself as the premier venue for internationally recognized art shows and events and continues to galvanize the South Side and the Bridgeport neighborhood as the most interesting new area for the arts in Chicago. Visit our website at www.zbcenter.org.


Sergio Gomez, MFA is a recognized visual artist, designer, professor, entrepreneur and curator at the Zhou B Art Center. Sergio is owner/Director of 33 Contemporary Gallery in Chicago and founder as well as Director of VisualArtToday.com, a curated online exhibition space for international contemporary art. Sergio has curated and organized a number of exhbitions at home and abroad. Sergio believes in the importance of providing a world class exhibition forum for emerging national talent. With the Zhou B Art Center as its venue, Sergio Gomez presents the National Wet Paint Exhibition 2012 as a platform for emerging contemporary painting.

Zhou B Spirit Award:

Two Wet Paint 2012 artists will be selected by the internationally recognized artist the Zhou Brothers to receive the Zhou B Spirit Award. The award will be presented during the opening reception on January 20th at 8:30 pm. The award recipients will have the unique opportunity to attend a private reception hosted by the Zhou Brothers in their honor at the Zhou B private studio on January 21st. The Zhou Brothers are one of the most accomplished contemporary artists in the world today renowned for their unique collaborative work process. They always work together on their paintings, performances, sculptures, and prints, often communicating without words in a so-called dream dialogue. Their thinking, aesthetic, and creativity are a symbiosis of Eastern and Western philosophy, art, and literature that informed their development since early childhood.

Exhibition Catalog:

Full color catalogs featuring all the works in the gallery will be available for purchase at Blurb.com

Online Exhibition:

In addition to the gallery exhibition, all selected works will be permanently exhibited at VisualArtToday.com.



2012 Wet Paint Artists

Kristin Baird, Columbus College of Art and Design
Natalie Baldeon, Washington University in St Louis
Aneesha Baldeosingh, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Guy Ben-Ari, Columbia University, School of Visual Arts
Adam Bock, Northern Illinois University
Sarah Kent Butler, Clemson University
Erin Castellan, Indiana University
Ryan Crotty, Syracuse University
Corey Crum, Northern Illinois University
Camille Chedda, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
Kyoungah Choi, Pratt Institute
Mary F. Coats, University of Iowa
Spencer Corbett, Indiana University
Benjamin Cowan, Indiana University
Adrian Cox, Washington University at St. Louis
Marie Danielsson-Yung, Towson University
Andrea DeJong, University of Iowa
Michel Droge, Maine College of Art
Monica Farrar, Purdue University
Linda King Ferguson, Vermont College of Fine Arts
Jared Flores, University of California at Santa Barbara
Erin Goedtel, Indiana University Bloomington
Diego Gutierrez, School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Crystal Heiden, Northwestern University
LaToya M. Hobbs, Purdue University
April Zanne Johnson, Montclair State University
Jinhee Kang, Yale University
Sarah Knill, Kendall College of Art and Design
Liliya Krys, Rhode Island
Avigail Manneberg, University of Minnesota
Mi-Hee Nahm, University of Texas at Austin
Michael Manning, Montclair State University
Zahra Nazari, Memphis College of Art
Fran O’Neill, Brooklyn College
James Papadopoulos, Pacific Northwest College of Art
Gabriel Pionkowski, University of Wisconsin-Madison
G. Scott Raffield, Parsons The New School for Design
Alyssa Reiser, Clemson University
John Ros, Cuny Brooklyn College
Clare Rosean, The University of Chicago
Brenda Suromi, Southern Illinois University
Bart Vargas, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Steven Vinson, Kendall College of Art and Design
Ben Willis, Arizona State University
Bernadette Witzack, University of Michigan
Gaby Wolodarski, Cornell University
Theodore Zanardelli, Ohio State University
Eros Zhao, School of the Art Institute of Chicago


Zhou B. Art Center • 1029 W. 35th St  • Chicago, IL 60609