Art Loop Open Winners: Main competition, and specialty categories

Chicago, IL (October 29, 2010) – Heads of the Chicago Loop Alliance and Chicago Artists’ Coalition
tonight announced the winners of the inaugural Art Loop Open, a major new art exhibition and
competition judged by the public and taking place in ten venues throughout the Loop, Oct. 15-28,
2010. With more than 12,000 votes cast by members of the public in support of their favorite pieces
of art, the top three Art Loop Open prize winners are:
John Dempsey, “The Great American Landscape” ($25,000 First Prize);
Daniel Lavitt, “Till We Meet Again” ($15,000 Second Prize);
Joseph Ivacic, “Staying Connected” ($10,000 Third Prize).
The winners were revealed by Chicago Loop Alliance Executive Director Ty Tabing and Chicago
Artists’ Coalition Executive Director Carolina O. Jayaram, joined by Chicago Community Trust
President and CEO Terry Mazany and ABC7 Reporter Janet Davies, at a festive Awards Ceremony
and Closing Party at Block 37, graciously hosted by the Hawaiian Convention and Visitors Bureau, an
Art Loop Open sponsor.
Augmenting the official Art Loop Open cash prizes are 12 merit awards judged and granted by
specific organizations; those award winners were also announced and include:
• The CADA Choice Awards (4)
Awarded by the Chicago Art Dealers Association, an arts organization comprised of the city’s
foremost visual arts dealers. Winning artists receive a one-month exhibit at the following CADA
galleries, between November – December 2010: Catherine Edelman Gallery: Brad Pogatetz,
Packer Schopf Gallery: Aaron Delehanty, Roy Boyd Gallery: Andrew Holmquist and Perimeter
Gallery: Roland Oria.
• Hard Rock Hotel Prize
Selected by DeMar Hamilton, drummer for the Plain White T’s, on behalf of the Hard Rock Hotel,
Kip Pasta will exhibit a piece and/or collection of his work for one year in one of the hotel’s
suites, along with receiving an opening reception at the suite and a two-night stay.
• 3Arts Prize
Awarded by 3Arts, this $2,000 cash prizes reflects 3Arts’ mission of supporting women artists,
artists of color, and artists with disabilities, and is awarded to Catherine Jacobi.
• Palmer House
Selected by the Palmer House, a $1,500 cash prize is awarded to Jim Newberry who will exhibit
a piece and/or collection of his work for one year in one of the hotel’s suites, along with an
opening reception at the suite and a two-night stay.
• Art Chicago | NEXT Prize
Selected by Merchandise Mart Properties, Inc. (MMPI), Duncan Anderson will have his artwork
exhibited in the Chicago Artists’ Coalition booth at Art Chicago/NEXT, April 28 – May 2, 2011.
• Artropolis Prize
Selected by MMPI, Bernard Williams will receive an extended exhibition within a public space at
the Merchandise Mart from November 2010 through the duration of Artropolis in the spring of
• One of A Kind Prize
Selected by MMPI, Lynn Basa will receive a booth at the 2010 One of A Kind Show, December 2
– 5, 2010.
• The WIT Prize
Presented and judged by theWit Hotel, a $5,000 cash prize is awarded to Younghwan Choi,
whose installation, “My Dear Friend Sullivan Building,” best reflects the concept of ‘WIT’- the
power of thinking and reasoning, intelligence, perception and humor.
• The Richard H. Driehaus Prize for Representational Art
Presented and judged by the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation, a $5,000 cash prize is awarded for
best ‘representational work’ to Renee McGinnis for her painting, “Park 60654.”